Sexy Hair

April 22, 2007

Had another terrible experience at Great Clips today. 

Apparently a plain old barbershop isn’t a sustainable business model anymore, you’ve got to hire 4 incompetent “stylists” and pipe in the local 90’s station.  Noticed that prices went up recently, and the menu board is now 2 layers, that allow them to change the underneath layer with pricing and still poke through the label layer.  Brilliant!

Great Clips, have you ever thought about the following tips for marketing your below average service?

  • Loyalty Card: Instead of announcing my fake phone number to the world 3 times since your “stylist” is more skilled in haircutting than english or numbers, why don’t you give me a loyalty card.  You’ll get fewer fake phone numbers and better data on usage across your stores (people do move)
  • Self Service: Now that I’ve got a loyalty card, turn that fancy touchscreen register around and let me check myself in, and even pay for what you like to call a haircut.  You’ll keep your “stylists” from stopping their work and allow them to focus on what they do best (that’s hard to write).
  • Customer Website: It’s time to put that loyalty card to work, you can call it HRM (Haircut Relationship Management).  So when I sign up for the card, you give my a flyer that says I get $2 off my next haircut (yes, I understand you’re franchised, it’s worth $2, just do it) if I give you my spam email account.  The really cool part is now you can send me a reminder every 6 weeks to get another crappy haircut, let me give you feedback on my last haircut, and let me make a future appointment with the stylist who didn’t Van Gogh me.  You’d quickly realize who should be made available to the industry.

Of course, doing all this really just tells you that you need to hire better people, but at least you’ll placate the existing customer base.  At least you’ll have a top notch web strategy for your local business.

By the way, for no extra charge, your stylist told me I had “sexy hair.”

One Response to “Sexy Hair”


Leave a Reply

